After "Export data", what is next? :)

Hello All,

I’m new in ML domain, Yolov3, OpenCV and Python.

I’m curious about the available methods to train Yolov3 from Hasty JSON data.
Are you aware of a Youtube video or a quick HowToPage that demonstrates how to train Yolov3 using Hasty Json?

Thanks for the attention you’ll grant to my message.
Before writing it, I took time to look for an answer in this forum.

1 Like

Hey thierry,

Since you haven’t used a specific yolo repository, I’ll try to answer the question with regards to a cursory reading from here: Yolo

It appears you will require a text file for images containing the class label and the bounding box coordinates.

You will need to create a parser for hasty json which will produce these text files. You can do so simply in python by:

import json
hasty_json = '/path/to/hasty/json'

with open(hasty_json) as file:
    data = json.load(file)

# This is only pseudo code as I'm only trying to give an idea of how to do it
for image in data['images']:
    # create text file here with image name 'image['image_name']'
    for label in image['labels']:
         # Extract bounding boxes with label['bbox'] and convert from x1, y1, x2, y2 to x, y, w, h
         # write line into text file
   # save text file

You should then be able to run the training mostly like explained from the link above.

Alternatively, you can try finding yolov3 repositories that use the coco format, in which case you can download the coco json from Hasty and just use that directly.

Hope this helps!

Cheers,
Hasnain

2 Likes

Good day Hasnain,

Many thanks for your reply. I really appreciate the details you provide and the 2 routes you suggest. At present I’m in the process to annotate the pictures and once I’m done with this part, I’ll let you know the outcome.

Cheers,
TM

Hi Thierry,