Bias in AI-applications

Hi everyone!

In the last few days, I’ve been thinking a lot about bias in AI. I’m sure you all heard stories similar to the one about Amazon’s recruiting system which discriminated against women, as the training-dataset contained mostly samples of men.

Without having a specific project in mind, I was wondering If some of you have experience with bias in AI and can share a few best-practices how to avoid it?

Cheers,
John

1 Like

Hello John,

Bias is quite a complex topic. All of us have inherent internal biases, and at the end of the day, it’s us who have to make decisions on data, and in doing so, inject our biases therein. Taking a more pragmatic approach: It mainly comes down who is responsible for checking bias in data, and how would they do it? I have a friend doing his PhD in ethics in AI and I’ll quote his opinion which I basically agree with: It’s not the job of the ML-engineer, but rather of the person/team who gathers the data.

Technically speaking, bias is not a bad thing necessarily. Depending on use-case, you sometimes want to have a biased dataset. If you’re doing analysis of female soccer players, you’ll want women only in the dataset and no men.

So, it’s rather a question for social scientists and carefully selecting the data than for the ML-engineer who’s trying to build a performant model.

Good evening Hasnain!

Thanks for your reply, it was quite interesting to read.

But I have to say that I disagree with you to a certain extent. ML-engineers cannot just say: “Neh, not my problem.” Wouldn’t it be a solution, when the ML-engineers check the dataset for a bias and then go back to the person selecting the data to ask if the bias is appropriate for the use-case?

Let me know what you think.

Cheers,
John

Hello John,

I like the direction of where you’re going. Establishing collaboration between the ML-engineer and the people overseeing the model in production definitely makes sense.